Keystone Self Storage

Address
233 Commerce Drive Lagrange OH 44050
Reviews
3.535 13
Call to book now
1 (877) 691-2491
Get Directions

Available Units

5' x 5'
5' x 10'
5' x 15'
10' x 10'
10' x 15'
10' x 20'
10' x 30'
5' x 10' Unit
  • covered
  • drive up access
  • outdoor access
  • light in unit
  • floor 1
  • roll up door
  • Household Storage Only (No Vehicles)
per month
10' x 10' Unit
  • covered
  • drive up access
  • outdoor access
  • floor 1
  • roll up door
  • Household Storage Only (No Vehicles)
per month
10' x 15' Unit
  • covered
  • drive up access
  • outdoor access
  • floor 1
  • roll up door
  • Household Storage Only (No Vehicles)
per month
10' x 20' Unit
  • covered
  • drive up access
  • outdoor access
  • floor 1
  • roll up door
  • available for vehicle storage
per month
10' x 30' Unit
  • covered
  • drive up access
  • outdoor access
  • floor 1
  • roll up door
  • available for vehicle storage
per month
25' x 30' Unit
  • power
  • covered
  • climate controlled
  • drive up access
  • outdoor access
  • light in unit
  • roll up door
  • available for vehicle storage
per month

Facility Hours

Sun
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Mon
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sat
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun
24 Hour Access
Mon
24 Hour Access
Tue
24 Hour Access
Wed
24 Hour Access
Thu
24 Hour Access
Fri
24 Hour Access
Sat
24 Hour Access

Features & Amenities

  • 24-hour access
  • Vehicle requires insurance
  • Vehicle requires title
  • Email billing available
  • Rent due on 1st of each month
  • Auto-pay available
  • Vehicle must be running
  • Vehicle requires registration
  • Title must match renter
  • Cash accepted
  • Checks accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (visa, mastercard, discover)

Facility's Fees & Requirements

  • Facility Administration Fee: $8.00

Additional Info from Facility

Customer Reviews

3.535 13
October 15th, 2015
Convenient, secure, easy leasing and affordable.
I was worried about being able to find a place to temporarily store my belongings at a price I could afford close enough to be convenient. Keystone self storage was the answer. I easily found them online and with one phone call was able to move in right away. Leasing and paying rent by mail was perfect for me. I would definitely recommend this facility to anyone looking for quick easy storage.
Recommended: Yes
5/5 (excellent value) Price
5/5 (outstanding) Service
5/5 (squeaky clean) Cleanliness
July 13th, 2015
Recommended: Yes
5/5 (excellent value) Price
5/5 (outstanding) Service
5/5 (squeaky clean) Cleanliness
September 4th, 2014
Very Efficient, convenient and polite service
Recommended: Yes
4/5 (good value) Price
4/5 (very helpful) Service
3/5 (average) Cleanliness
Manager's Response September 5th, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to complete the review.
November 15th, 2015
Out of the way, but the price is worth it
Not the easiest place to find, but it is by far the most reasonable on price and accessibility
Recommended: Yes
5/5 (excellent value) Price
5/5 (outstanding) Service
5/5 (squeaky clean) Cleanliness
July 23rd, 2015
Kind employees, clean space, questionable security?
I am incredibly grateful to the employees here - they were kind and hooked me up with a really good deal. I haven't been back to the unit since I first put my things in it, and it seemed like the security wasn't the strictest, so I'm a little nervous about that.
Recommended: Yes
4/5 (good value) Price
4/5 (very helpful) Service
4/5 (clean) Cleanliness
May 26th, 2015
It's fine self-storage
It can be hard to find. Go all the way to the end of Commerce Drive, then turn right behind the buildings, where it doesn't look as if there is a driveway.
Recommended: Yes
3/5 (fair price) Price
4/5 (very helpful) Service
4/5 (clean) Cleanliness
May 18th, 2015
Janky and cheap, people are friendly and I trust leaving my stuff there.
I hope my stuff will still be there when I get back.
Recommended: Yes
4/5 (good value) Price
4/5 (very helpful) Service
5/5 (squeaky clean) Cleanliness
May 18th, 2015
Easy to access, cheap, great owner.
The storage units were a bit difficult to find, as it is located behind a larger building and has a small sign. However, making the reservation and paying the cheap rent was very easy. The owner is very nice and willing to help in any way she can. I would recommend this place to other students seeking to store over breaks.
Recommended: Yes
5/5 (excellent value) Price
5/5 (outstanding) Service
5/5 (squeaky clean) Cleanliness
September 11th, 2014
easy access/nice
Recommended: Yes
4/5 (good value) Price
5/5 (outstanding) Service
5/5 (squeaky clean) Cleanliness
September 3rd, 2014
It was the best price for the amount of space of all the storage spaces that we looked at, but water got into the storage space over the summer, and at least one set of sheets developed mold bad enough they had to be thrown away. If you do put stuff in here, I'd suggest plastic bins or something rather than cardboard boxes.
Recommended: No
4/5 (good value) Price
2/5 (somewhat unhelpful) Service
2/5 (somewhat dirty) Cleanliness
Manager's Response September 5th, 2014
TJ, thanks for the review. Would you be willing to tell me what unit # you were in so we can fix the water issue to prevent any future problems. I am sorry you found us to be somewhat unhelpful. Do you care to expand? Our phones are manned 24/7-if for some reason we don't answer, calls are returned quickly.
May 18th, 2014
Recommended: Yes
5/5 (excellent value) Price
4/5 (very helpful) Service
3/5 (average) Cleanliness
August 21st, 2014
inconsistent
The management was inconsistent with the information that they provided to me about payments and even became argumentative when I asked for documentation. I would not recommend that anyone use this service.
Recommended: No
3/5 (fair price) Price
1/5 (very unhelpful) Service
3/5 (average) Cleanliness
Manager's Response August 26th, 2014
This negative review is in response to Taylor becoming delinquent with her payments and being denied access to her unit. Taylor (and friends) moved in during May. The unit was shared by multiple college students. Invoices and statements were sent numerous times to the email Taylor provided. Taylor never made payments nor contacted management re:not receiving initial paperwork. The paperwork was NEVER returned by the customer. After non-payment the unit was locked by management until the account was paid in full. One of the tenants arrived to remove their items on 8/16 & found they could not access the unit. Taylor contacted me on 8/16 & I explained to her the situation and that I was not at a computer and would contact her the following day to discuss her options. I called her the next day, Sunday, August 17, explained to her that the account needed to be brought up to date prior to access & sent her a statement. She & her mother called several times that day, I spoke with them or returned their call each time. The following morning I called Taylor's mother and left a message, I did not hear back from her until 8/21. Partial payment was received on 8/21. On 8/21 there were at least 12 phone calls to and from Taylor and her mother explaining that payment was due in full prior to allowing anyone access to the unit. She was very upset and accused me of being dishonest and increasing the amount due after receiving the partial payment. I do not believe I was argumentative but I was frustrated that she was yelling at me and during the last phone call I told her I would call her on 8/22. I called her at 9:00 am on 8/18 and again sent her an updated statement. She did not return my phone call. I called again on 8/23 and she did not return my phone call. She made payment to my staff on 8/25 around lunch time. Her unit was unlocked within hours. I am sorry that Taylor feels we were very unhelpful, but I am not sure where I fell short as I answered or returned every phone call-including ones made on Saturdays, Sundays and during evening hours. Our rental process is easy and uneventful as long as payments are made timely. Our paperwork is very simple to complete as we fill in as much as we can prior to mailing to the customer. We also provide monthly envelopes to mail the payments.
June 6th, 2015
Sketchy, Bad Management, Bad Customer Service
-Finding the facility was a little difficult, location is quite sketchy. No fence. No office location there. Lots of random junk and car parts around. No type of security. The actual unit was clean but the latch for our unit was kind of rusted. The price was the cheapest around, which I guess accounts for the cheap service. -There were inconsistencies with ALL original documentation I received as it pertained to the price of the unit. -Manager became upset with me for not wanting to relocate to different unit (after I had left town (college student) and without being presented with a new contract pertaining the changes in unit) Got angry at me for adamant about the contract. Manager then became RUDE, ARGUMENTATIVE, and HOSTILE over the phone insulting my character and me. -Before and After termination of lease, I tired to inquire information about the refund process. Manager barely responded to my emails. Manager didn’t return any of my phone calls to the office. THE MANAGER IS NEVER AT THE OFFICE LOCATION. THERE IS NO REFUND POLICY. Manager refused to consider all the documentation I had been given as apart of working out a refund, saying that “the documentation was a mistake and an error”, even though the “erroneous” documentation accounted the price was actually paid in full. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. NASTY, CORRUPT, ARGUMENTATIVE MANAGER. Does not know to respectfully speak with a customer they disagree with. CHEAP SERVICE. JANKY FACILITIES (office located at some other business) Business overall seems like a gimmick to exploit the college students in the area, so the management can fraudulently make money on the side. *Management clearly doesn’t respect bounds of privacy of previous dissatisfied customers (see comments from review on Aug 21, 2014) and doesn’t know how to take a bad review. (They will probably negatively comment on this review thus further proving my point)
Recommended: No
2/5 (a little steep) Price
1/5 (very unhelpful) Service
1/5 (very dirty) Cleanliness